Cupcake of the Week – Tiramisu

For this year’s Super Bowl, we had some friends over, and I decided on Italian as my food theme. I made meatballs, mini caesar salads in cocktail glasses, caprese salad sticks with balsamic glaze, deep fried penne pasta, and parmisan garlic kale chips. I made everything in little individual portions that our guests could just grab whenever they felt like eating something – so it seemed only logical that I make an Italian dessert into a bite size portion, too! That’s how these Tiramisu cupcakes were born.

The recipe is a little strange, because I used things that I already had on hand. So feel free to substitute better ingredients if you so desire.

Ingredients:

1 Butter Recipe Yellow cake mix
1 sm pkg Jello Instant Cheesecake Pudding mix
Strong brewed coffee

Use the ingredients it calls for on the back of the cake mix, only instead of using water, use strong brewed coffee. I added a couple extra tablespoons of coffee to what the mix called for, to make up for any moisture loss. Add the pudding last and mix well. Bake as directed for cupcakes.

For the frosting, I made traditional cream cheese frosting, only I used half ricotta, half cream cheese. On top of the frosting, I made and added sweetened whipped cream. (One cup heavy whipping cream, 2 tablespoons powdered sugar, whip in stand mixer until stiff peaks form) Then I dusted them with a mixture of cocoa and powdered sugar, and served them on a pretty doily.

These things were insanely good. Enjoy!

One comment on “Cupcake of the Week – Tiramisu

  1. trialsinfood
    June 1, 2012 at 12:24 am #

    Looks good! Sounds like a great super bowl get together!

Your thoughts?

