Hunger Games – My Review

Well, I bought advance tickets, picked up the kids a little early from school, and arrived half an hour before the movie started so we could get awesome seats. I even had a free popcorn coupon. We had the full setup.

The Hunger Games –

I absolutely loved the books. I read the whole series twice, and I read the first book last weekend just so it would be fresh in my mind for the movie. That might have been a mistake… because sadly, most of the things I loved about the book, were not in the movie. The movie was good, don’t get me wrong! I really liked it, but part of me thinks that perhaps it would have been better for someone who hadn’t read the book… but then I wonder if they would have understood what was going on when they were skipping over, or rushing through huge parts of the story. I missed the emotion, and the things that I ‘felt’ while reading the book.

The pin, which ends up being so important in the whole series… was wrong in the movie… She didn’t find it in the hob, as they suggest in the movie, she got it from her friend, the mayor’s daughter. They didn’t really spend much time on how hard she had to work to keep her family from starving, and how forbidden hunting was… that she wore her father’s jacket… that her name was in the drawing so many times because they got more food for doing so… And in the book, when Peeta threw her in the bread, she was starving, and going through the garbage of the richer people trying to find something to feed her family. Not just sitting by a tree in the rain.

I felt like they did a very good job portraying district 12, it looked a lot like I’d pictured it as I was reading – I loved the hob, the ‘reaping’ was pretty much perfect. However, I was disappointed in the train to the capitol. How they felt when they first saw the fancy decorations, and the luxurious food that they could have as much of as they wanted… The nice clothes in their rooms… They didn’t describe that in the movie at all.

I think they did a great job with the capitol, and the casting of almost all the characters was spot on. I loved the pre-games ceremony, and Cinna, who was one of my favorite characters in the book, was awesome.

As far as the games go… They never really explained why Peeta was in alliance with the ‘Careers,’ or how it made Katniss feel when she found out he was. And they moved things along so quickly, you didn’t have a chance to feel their homesickness, or how much she missed Prim and Gale – even how she worried about what Gale would think when she kissed Peeta. She found the water waaaaaaay too easily, that was annoying. And her ‘trap’ that she set was really skipped over, too.

I understand that they couldn’t possibly act out the whole book, especially considering a lot of it is just from Katniss’ mind’s eye. But I did miss a good bit of the detail from the book. I liked the chemistry between Katniss and Gale, and between Peeta and Katniss – he really did look smitten.

Well, that’s the end of my fangirl rant. I promise. 🙂 If you liked the books, you should see the movie… but don’t decide to not read the books if you don’t like the movie – the books are not surprisingly, much better than the movie, and definitely a series that everyone should read.

I hope everyone is having a great weekend!

One comment on “Hunger Games – My Review

  1. Most Recently Watched
    April 18, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    Here is my take on the movie if your interested.

    http://mostrecentlywatched.wordpress.com/2012/04/05/thehungergames/

Your thoughts?

