Green Smoothies

I’ve seen them all over pinterest, my friends are talking about them on facebook… And I felt like I at least had to try them. Green smoothies.

I know I don’t eat enough fruit and vegetables, and I want to remedy that! I do. But I must admit, a giant glass of green goo doesn’t rank that high on my list of things to drink. Surprisingly though, I liked it! And it’s absolutely packed with vitamins.

This is a snippet I borrowed from one of the links below. And ultimately, the reason I decided to try these.

“Spinach benefits cannot be overstated. In the past it has often been regarded as a plant that helps restore energy, increase vitality, and improve the quality of the blood. The main reason for this is that spinach nutrition provides twice as much iron as most other greens.

Other nutrients it contains include calcium, magnesium, potassium, vitamin A, and the B-complex vitamins. It is also a good source of Niacin and Zinc, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Protein, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Folate, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Copper and Manganese.

Spinach, just like other greens that contain chlorophyll and carotene, is a remarkable protector against various diseases, including cancer, anemia, digestive problems, skin problems, as well as acting as a mild laxative. Women who are worried about osteoporosis should consume spinach because it is a rich source of calcium and vitamin K. http://greensmoothiepower.com

So now on to the recipes. I’ve only tried one of these so far, but I’m definitely open to trying different variations. And, though I know I’m not supposed to share Weight Watchers recipes from their website that you must be a member of, and log in, to see… there’s even a weight watchers variety at the bottom.

This recipe is the one I tried, and I honestly really like it. It definitely makes enough for two large smoothies, so if you’re just making it for you, you might want to cut the recipe in half. I threw in a handful of green seedless grapes in mine, but that was the only change I made. The only thing the spinach seemed to do was give it just a little ‘green’ taste, which was fine with me – but I would probably use unsweetened apple juice or something like that instead of water next time. Also, it’s pretty much neon green – about as green as it could be… so I guess that means it’s a good one!

This site gives you ten different recipes, including ones that use berries and juices to make them not green, if that bothers you. It also takes some time to explain why they’re so good for you, which I found pretty useful.

This recipe includes greek yogurt. I’m not a fan of greek yogurt, and with all the fruit, it seems like it would curdle… but I’ll try anything once.

This recipe calls for english cucumber and mint leaves…

And according to a few sources on Pinterest, this one is the yummiest of them all.

And now the weight watchers versions. They’re both 5 points, if you make them as directed. (Points Plus) And the recipes are supposed to serve 2.

Eat Your Greens Fruit Smoothie (Weight Watchers)

5 oz fresh spinach
1 large banana(s)
1 serving(s) Flaxseeds, ground, 1 tablespoon
1/2 serving(s) Naked Juice Pomegranate juice, unsweetened
1/2 cup(s) plain unsweetened almond milk, soy or hemp milk
1 cup(s) unsweetened frozen blueberries, or fresh

Glowing Green Smoothie

1 small fresh apple
1 large banana
1 small pear
2 cups romaine lettuce
1/8 cup fresh chopped parsley
1 medium fresh lime
1 cup uncooked celery
1/8 cup cilantro
1/2 serving uncooked celery
1 1/2 cup fresh spinach
2 cups water
(I think I’d add a little honey or something to this, it sounds… tart.)

I hope you try them! They’re weird, sure… but couldn’t we all afford to be a little healthier?

If you have a favorite recipe, please share it in the comments!

 

Your thoughts?

