Image

Design Challenge – My Livingroom – Edited

So I was standing in my Livingroom this morning, desperately wishing for decorating ideas, when an idea for a new blog feature hit me!

It’s called “Design Challenge” And I’ll be posting pictures of a room that I pick, or you suggest, and together, we’ll make it better. Sound like fun? I think so! If you’ve got a room in mind that you’d like to see in this feature, just email me at jenidleman [at] gmail [dot] com, or post a link in the comments below.

On to the challenge!

I’ve decided to submit my oddly shaped Livingroom this week. It’s painted a terra-cotta orange color, only a bit lighter, a common Florida color. And I don’t hate it. I do think it needs more color though. The sunburst painting I posted about last week is definitely going in there somewhere, I’m just not sure where, and what to put with it. I’d also love to add maybe a rug, or rugs, possibly curtains, if I could find the right ones, and reupholster the tired looking microfiber couch, and add some more pillows. I’d also like to add a couple of comfy chairs. But I’m not sure what colors I want to put with the orange paint, and what to put on the walls.

I got this pitcher at the Columbia restaurant in St. Augustine, FL. And I love the colors and patterns. It’s kind of my inspiration for the room.

I’m thinking wrought iron, pretty Spanish prints, with a little vintage/handmade charm thrown in.

The white door you can see on the back wall there, is the door to one of the bedrooms, the vertical blinds on the wall to the right are covering the sliding glass doors out onto the pool. If you turned to your left from where I’m standing, you’d see a small hallway that leads to the second bathroom and third bedroom. And I’m standing in the kitchen.

Help! 🙂

4 comments on “Design Challenge – My Livingroom – Edited

  1. searching for middle ground
    November 16, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    what a gorgeous gorgeous space! are hardwoods an option? I think a warm wood like an oak or teak would look fantastic and warm up the space a bit – I like your idea of the rugs too – that would also work well. I think larger pieces of artwork would look fantastic on the far wall where you can really see the height of the space. I’ll think more on this but you’ve got a great canvas to start with! 🙂

  2. newlookdesigns
    November 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    It appears that the white door in the photo is the front door? If that is the case, when entering the house there is no transitional area such as a foyer, entrance, etc. Since the room seems a good size, I would create an ‘entrance’ with the back of the sofa. It would create a corridor upon entering the house as well as move foot traffic in the direction you want them to proceed.

  3. jenidleman
    November 16, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Thanks for the suggestions! The white door is actually the door to one of the bedrooms, if I turned to my left from where I took the photos, you’d see a little hallway that goes to the second bathroom and third bedroom, and I’m taking the photos while standing in the kitchen. It’s an oddly shaped/angled area. :\

  4. newlookdesigns
    November 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Thanks for clarifying. You might want to get the couch away from the wall. You could put it directly across from the t.v. or angle it so that it faces both the t.v. and the view out the patio door. If you try that, you might also be able to add 1-2 chairs. I would then anchor that space with an area rug. Take your colorful pitcher with you when rug shopping.

    I’ll be sure to look you up on Etsy!

Your thoughts?

