Ever been to Wow Bao?

When I first met my husband, he lived in Chicago. I’d never been to Chicago before, but during my many visits, quickly started to love the city. The food is amazing, the shopping is incredible, and it’s really a diverse, beautiful place.

We were just up there for his daughter’s wedding, and apparently during her travels for last minute wedding prep, my stepdaughter, Lily, got to go to Wow Bao. It’s a cute little fast food restaurant, that serves these little steamed Asian dumplings. They’re so good.

We like to have at least one, sit down at the dinner table, family dinner with the kids every week. I cook, which is something I really enjoy, (sometimes with help from E or the kiddos) and Lily sets the table and serves the plates. This week, she suggested that we try to make those little Wow Bao dumplings for dinner one night. I’m always up for a foodie challenge, so I did a little online research before I picked her up from school, then we went to the grocery store and came home to make dumplings. (We might have also made a quick stop at Wendy’s for french fries…)

I decided to make Asian BBQ pork dumplings for us, and Tofu/Mushroom/Spinach dumplings for the vegetarian in the family. The recipe I used was really close to Wow Bao, but not quite as saucy. Next time I would let the pork marinate for longer, and add a little more sauce to the filling for the dumplings than I did. So yeah, basically just do what the recipe says and don’t try to skip things to make it faster. :\ The dough, by the way, was perfect! And I made them in a regular Oster steamer that I already had sitting in my kitchen, not a bamboo steamer basket. I don’t often blog about food or recipes, but these were so yummy I just had to share!

Here are the recipes:

Chinese Barbecue Pork/Char Siu Recipe

Dough Recipe/Dumpling Prep

Vegetarian Dumplings
(I cut this recipe in half, and used the same dough from the pork dumpling recipe.)

They were a challenge, and definitely not a quick dinner… but totally worth it! 🙂

Your thoughts?

