Image

It’s ‘curtains’ for me!

A while back, I bought this vintage sheet on Etsy with the intention of turning it into curtains for my bedroom, which is decorated in blues and browns. I was very happy with the quality of the fabric, no wear, no stains… it’s so pretty. And I was all excited to have a project to submit to Project Restyle.

The problem is… I don’t really know how to make curtains, I’ve realized… I have a sewing machine, I know how to sew in a hem and a ruffle, but that seems too boring for this sheet.

I’ve been researching Pinterest, and google for cute DIY ideas… and while I don’t think any of these are right for this particular fabric, I can definitely see myself using them for other rooms.

1. This valance is really cute. I can see it in a kids room, or any room where you could get away with a little whimsy.

2. Vintage handkerchiefs made into curtains. I. Love. This. Idea. And now I wish I’d bought all those hankies I found in that antique shop in Savannah. *sigh*

3. Ribbons! I have to try this.

4. Cheesecloth curtains with shell buttons. These would be so pretty and delicate.

5. Easy tied curtains. This would be really pretty with lacy, vintage scarves!

6. Simple Chevron Panels… These would match that cute DIY chevron rug from the other day…

Your thoughts?

