Image

Weekly Photoshop Tutorial

Hi There!

On my quest to find some Photoshop resources to share with you today, I ran across this tutorial to give photos an aged, Polaroid look – I tried it on one of our wedding photos: I love it except I think I might remove some of the effect on my arm so I don’t look like a leper.

(Taken by Samantha Hunter)

But instead of featuring just one Photoshop tutorial today, I have decided to give you a fun collection of goodies to use in Photoshop.

First of all, is one of my personal favorite Photoshop tools, and that’s Brushes. I have everything from lightning, to cracks, to blood spatter. You can completely change your image, or art piece by adding the shadow of a handwritten poem, or post card in the background. Here’s a couple of links to some good resources for brushes:

100 High Res Photoshop Brushes – Photoshop Roadmap

Brusheezy

Brush King

Deviantart

PSBrushes

Other favorites of mine include textures and patterns – custom shapes and masks. Here are some of my favorite resources.

Brusheezy is invaluable, as far as I’m concerned. They have a great selection of both textures and patterns, as well as shapes, actions, styles and gradients. Need to make a shiny icon for the iPhone app you’re working on? Download one of their PSD files with the layers included, and save yourself a lot of time getting it ‘just right.’

PSLover – This site offers tutorials, effects, design tips, and lots more.

Photoshop Roadmap – A similar site – but just as cool.

Speckyboy has a really good list of resources.

And when I just want some inspiration, I go to sites like Deviantart and Logopond – and I always come back with a fresh look on my project.

If you’re an Illustrator user, check out Vecteezy, and Vectorstock.

I hope you enjoy the resources I’ve shared with you today! Happy Monday!

One comment on “Weekly Photoshop Tutorial

  1. Elise
    April 12, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Yay! I love tutorials:) Thanks!

Your thoughts?

