Best Guacamole Recipe Ever

Just a quick recipe share this morning, then I’ll be back later on today with something I’m pretty excited about! Also, you might have noticed that I gave the ol’ blog a little makeover. What do you think? 🙂

(I got this from Google images, not my own picture)

Guacamole, I think… is something that you either love, or you detest. Some people can’t get past the chunky green appearance to even consider it something worth eating. However, I’ve converted quite a few “ewww!” friends to “this is amazing!” friends with this recipe that I’ve perfected over the past couple of years.

One time when I was visiting my then boyfriend in Chicago, we had a little dinner party and invited a couple of friends over. We told them we were making Mexican food, and they offered to bring guacamole. I was skeptical, because I’d never had good homemade guac before. Turned out it was really very good, I asked for the recipe, and a modified version of that one is the one that I now use to wow my family and dinner party guests.

Here’s the recipe:

Best Guacamole Ever

2 ripe avocados, peeled and coarsely mashed
1/4 cup white onion, minced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 Tbs. fresh lime juice
1 Tbs fresh cilantro, finely chopped
2 Tbs chunky fresh Pico de Gayo, strained (optional)
1/2 tsp. salt (more to taste)

Mix all the ingredients together gently so you don’t end up with goop, serve in a pretty Fiestaware bowl with the ‘touch of lime’ Tostitos and you’ve got a great appetizer!

2 comments on “Best Guacamole Recipe Ever

  1. bluemixer
    November 11, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Yum! I’m glad that isn’t your photo. Eating raw veggies with guac? Noway… it’s all about chips and tacos! 🙂

    I make mine very similar, except I prefer red onion for the flavor and color.

  2. Edward
    November 11, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    It really is the best guac – ever. Seriously. Ever.

Your thoughts?

